# **Directorate of Organization and Management Services**

Α.

**About the Directorate** 

# Brief note on functions of the Directorate

The Directorate of Income Tax (O&M Services), which is headed by a Director of Income Tax (DIT), came into existence in the year 1972 on the recommendations of the Direct Taxes Enquiry Committee (Wanchoo Committee). It started functioning in April 1973. This Directorate is an attached office of the Board and functions as a kind of an internal management consultant. The Directorate is functioning under the administrative control of the Principal Director General of Income Tax(Logistics).

#### 2. Presently, the following functions are being performed by this Directorate:

i. Conduct of organisation and management studies.

ii. Setting up and certification of Aayakar Seva Kendras as a part of Single Window System for public service delivery.

iii. It is the coordinating agency for Results Framework Document (RFD) of the CBDT. It liaises with the various Directorates General of Income Tax in order to obtain the action points related to objectives enshrined in the RFD and regularly coordinates with them to ensure that the objectives are met within the resolved deadlines

iv. Monitoring the utility of existing forms and registers, etc. in the Income-tax department and suggests ways and means of digitizing them and hosting them online.

v. On a monthly basis the Directorate collates CAP-I and CAP-II statements.

vi. It is the nodal agency of the Department for collating and disseminating information relating to Right to Information Act, 2005

3. This Directorate acts as a coordinator in establishing the concept of Sevottam in the Income Tax Department by setting up Aayakar Seva /Kendras across the country. Aaykar Seva Kendra (ASK) is the mechanism used by CBDT for implementing the philosophy of 'Sevottam' initiated by the PMO. Aayakar Seva Kendra (ASK) is the single window system for implementation of Citizen's Charter of the Income Tax Department and a mechanism for achieving excellence in public service delivery. The PMO had selected the Income Tax Department for fast track implementation of Sevottam in 2007. The Cabinet Secretariat has made Sevottam part of its Results Framework Document (RFD) which is being implemented in 62 central government departments. The Income Tax Department has also prepared a Results Framework Document (RFD). As per the RFD, Sevottam has been given 20% weightage in evaluating performance of the Department.

## 4. Setting up of Aayakar Sewa Kendras :

Till date, 189 ASK centres have been set up across the country in three phases as under:-

A. Aayakar Seva Kendra setup in F.Y. 2010-11 (Phase-I) :

Ahmedabad, Bhubaneswar, Chandigarh, Mohali, Luldhiana, Chennai, Kochi, Guwahati, Indore, Kolkata(Bamboo Villa), Kolkata(Chinsurah), Pune, Ranchi, Surat and Udaipur.

B. Aayakar Seva Kendra setup in F.Y. 2011-12 (Phase-II):

Faridabad, Shimla, Gurgaon, Jammu, Hissar, Delhi (Civic Centre), Delhi (Laxmi Nagar), Jaipur, Bikaner, Jhodhpur, Ahmedabad (PratyakshKarBhawan), Rajkot, Baroda, Gandhidham, Nadiad, Mumbai (Bandra), Pune, Aurangabad, Kolhapur, Nashik, Nagpur, Akola, Bangalore, Hubli, Managalore, Panaji, Trivandrum, Chennai, Madurai, Tiruchirapalli, Salem, Hyderabad (I.T. Towers), Vishakhapatnam, Vijaywada, Hyderabad (AayakarBhawan), Rourkela, Sambalpur, Berhampur, Kokata (Dakshin), Siliguri, Durgapur, Bhopal, Raipur, Gwalior, Jabalpur, Lucknow, Allahabad, Varanasi, Moradabad, Bareilly, Kanpur, Meerut, Dehradun, Agra, Patna, Dhanbad, Shillong, Silchar, Sivasagar and Dimapur.

C. Aayakar Sewa Kendras setup in F.Y. 2012-13 (Phase-III) :

Nizamabad, Tirupathy, Rajamundry, Bhawnagar, Kimmatnagar, Godhara, Alwar, Ajmer, Bhilwara, Chandrapur, Pune (PraptikarSadan), Sangli, Solapur,Ahmednagar, Thanjavur, Vellore, Kumbakonam, Kozhikode, Kannur, Palakkad, Trichur, Kollam, Raichur, Shimoga, Tumkur, Mumbai (CGO Complex), Jeypore, Cuttack, Burdwan, Kolkata (P-7 & P-13), Kolkata (3 Govt, Place), Jalpaiguri, Tejpur, Tinsukia, Hazaribagh, Darbhanga, Purnea, Ujjain, Bilaspur, Bhillai, Sagar, Khandwa, Ratlam, Mathura, Muzaffarnagar, Haldwani, Gorakhpur, Sitapur, Raibareilly, Palampur, Solan, Patiala, Amritsar, Rohtak, Panchkula, Karnal and Delhi (C.R. Building).

D. Aayakar Sewa Kendras setup in F.Y. 2013-14 (Phase-IV) :

Bhatinda, Sirsa, Ambala, Phagwara, Hoshiarpur, Jalandhar, Chittorgarh, Kota, Sikar, Pali, Jhunjhunu, Nagaur, Surendranagar, Palanpur, Mehsana, Mumbai (Aayakar Bhawan), Kalyan, Jalgaon, Satara, Nanded, Jalna, Dhule, Khamgaon, Bellary, Gulbarga, Bijapur, Udupi, Kasargod, Karaikudi, Virudhnagar, Tirunelveli, Bhimavaram, Srikakulam, Anantpur, Karimnagar, Kurnool, Keonjhar, Phulbani, Purulia, Bankura, Suri, Kolkata (Middleton Row), Kolkata (Aayakar Bhavan, Poorva), Katni, Satna, Dhamtari, Rajnandgaon, Mysore, Mandya, Kushinagar, Aligarh, Noida, Bhagalpur, Gaya, Digboi, Nagaon and Dhubri.

## 5. The following 56 ASK centres have been certified to be IS:15700 compliant:

Pune, Kochi, Chandigarh, Gandhinagar, Surat, Trivandrum, Ludhiana, Shimla, Mohali, Bangalore, Mangalore, Jaipur, Chennai, Coimbatore, Kolhapur, Aurangabad, Delhi, Mumbai(Bandra), Patna, Ranchi, Kanpur, Dehradun, Bareilly, Ahmedabad, Hyderabad (IT Tower), Hyderabad (Aayakar Bhawan), Bhubaneswar, Baroda, Nadiad, Guwahati, Sivasagar, Indore, Bhopal, Chinsurah, Kolkata (Bamboo Villa), Jodhpur, Bikaner, Hissar, Faridabad, Gurgaon, Nashik , Rajkot, Gandhidham, Akola, Raipur, Gwalior, Jabalpur, Hubli , Allahabad, Varanasi, Salem, Trichy, Meerut, Agra Tumkur and Jammu